province. The committee's functions were redefined in 1969 (order-in-council PC 1969-1458). The orderin-council recognizes that the provinces have exclusive jurisdiction to make decisions on names in lands under their jurisdiction. The committee is administered by the energy, mines and resources department.

**Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission.** This commission, established as the Canadian Radio-Television Commission under the provisions of the Broadcasting Act (RSC 1970, c.B-11), regulates and supervises all aspects of the Canadian broadcasting system. The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act, promulgated April 1, 1976, amended the Broadcasting Act to assign regulatory responsibility to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) over federally regulated telecommunications carriers.

CRTC regulates and supervises a single Canadian broadcasting system, mainly through the process of licensing broadcasting undertakings and administering a body of regulation and policy statements with a view to implementing the policies set out in the Broadcasting Act.

One of the commission's methods of satisfying the concerns as set out in the Railway Act is the holding of public hearings in connection with applications for general rate revisions submitted by the telecommunications carriers under its jurisdiction.

The CRTC consists of an executive committee of up to nine full-time members composed of a chairman, two vice-chairmen and six other full-time members. The full commission includes the executive committee and up to 10 part-time members chosen regionally. All are appointed by the Governor-in-Council. The commission reports to Parliament through the minister of communications.

**Canadian Saltfish Corp.** Established under the Saltfish Act (SC 1969-70, c.32) and operative since May 1970, this corporation's main purpose is to improve the earnings of fishermen and other primary producers of salt-cured fish, through production or purchase, processing and marketing of salt cod from participating provinces.

The head office is at St. John's, Nfld. The board of directors is composed of a chairman, a president who is chief executive officer, one director for each participating province and not more than five other directors, all appointed by the Governor-in-Council. It is assisted by an advisory committee of 15 members, at least half of them fishermen or representatives of fishermen. The corporation's financial obligations are limited to \$15 million and it is required to operate without grant appropriation from Parliament. It reports to Parliament through the minister of fisheries and oceans.

Canadian Transport Commission. The commission, a court of record created in 1967 by the National Transportation Act (RSC 1970, c.N-17), took over powers formerly vested in the Board of Transport Commissioners, the Air Transport Board and the Canadian Maritime Commission. Four committees regulate the different transport modes - air, rail, water and commodity pipeline. Regulation of extraprovincial motor vehicle transport is in effect only for the Roadcruiser bus service operated by the Canadian National Railways in Newfoundland. In July 1976 the CN bus service was exempted by the Governor-in-Council from provisions of the Motor Vehicle Transport Act (RSC 1970, c.M-14), and came under the jurisdiction of the motor vehicle transport committee of the Canadian Transport Commission, pursuant to the National Transportation Act. Regulatory control over all other extra-provincial motor vehicle undertakings is exercised by provincial highway transport boards, acting as agents of the federal government, as provided for in the Motor Vehicle Transport Act. A sixth committee deals with review and appeals, while the seventh is concerned with international transport policy. A research branch studies the economic aspects of all modes of transport within, into or from Canada, and a traffic and tariff branch ensures that all tariffs and tolls issued by federally regulated railways, railway express companies, water carriers, motor vehicle undertakings and international bridge and tunnel companies are compiled, issued and filed as required by the Railway Act, the Transport Act, the National Transportation Act and regulations of the commission.

The commission consists of not more than 17 members, including a president and two vice-presidents, appointed by the Governor-in-Council for a maximum of 10 years. It reports to Parliament through the minister of transport.

Canadian Wheat Board. The board was incorporated in 1935 under the Canadian Wheat Board Act (RSC 1970, c.C-12) to market, in the interprovincial and export trade, grain grown in Canada. Its powers include authority to buy, take delivery of, store, transfer, sell, ship or otherwise dispose of grain. Except as directed by the Governor-in-Council, the board was not originally authorized to buy grain other than wheat but since August 1949 it has also been authorized to buy barley and oats. Only grain produced in the designated area, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and parts of British Columbia, is purchased by the board, which controls the delivery of grain into elevators and railway cars in that area as well as the interprovincial movement for export of wheat, oats and barley generally. The board currently reports to Parliament through a designated minister of state.

Cape Breton Development Corp. This proprietary Crown corporation was created by an act of Parliament in July 1967 (RSC 1970, c.C-13) and came into existence by proclamation in October 1967. It was set up to